The Bank of Ethiopia was established in accordance with Ethiopian law in 1931. According to its constitution, a board of management would consist of ten members, six of whom would be chosen by the Ethiopian government, who will own six-tenths of the capital, and four by the holders of the remaining capital. It seems that the Ethiopian Empire had only one bank.